APPG SRH holds AGM and meeting on ‘The Women’s Health Strategy: One year on’

Posted 17 July 2023

Date: 17 Jul 2023

Type: All-Party Parliamentary Group on SRH

On 4 July 2023, the All Party Parliamentary Group on Sexual and Reproductive Health (APPG SRH) held its AGM and a discussion - chaired by the APPG’s Co-Chair Baroness Liz Barker - focused on progress made against the Government’s Women’s Health Strategy, one year on from its publication.

Over 40 Parliamentarians, officials and community stakeholders heard how the publication of the Women’s Health Strategy in July 2022 had placed a renewed focus on women’s health. It was acknowledged, however, that there is still much progress to be made to improve reproductive health outcomes across the life course – including in relation to ensuring equitable access to contraception.  

The meeting included presentations from the following on the Women’s Health Strategy and opportunities for the next stage of implementation, as well as the launch of a new report from Bayer on women’s health policy:

  • Dame Lesley Regan, Women's Health Ambassador for England
  • Marion McPherson, Global Therapy Area Head of Women’s Healthcare at Bayer and Romika Purwaha, Head of Women’s Health at Bayer UK
  • Dr Stephanie Cook, Clinical Lead for Women's Health Hubs in Liverpool and Dr Jennifer Peters, Axess GP Champion for Sexual Health in Liverpool

Baroness Barker welcomed views on priorities for the next stage of implementation, as well as actions that should be pursued by the APPG and partners. Attendees discussed issues including the need for women’s health leadership within ICSs to help enable the successful establishment of women’s health hubs. Participants also raised the importance of joined-up commissioning being reflected in central Government planning, the possibilities for greater professional diversity within the provision of SRH and the need to look at provision of contraception within maternity care pathways and post-abortion care.

As part of the AGM business, Parliamentarians re-elected the following as Officers of the APPG:

  • Chair – Dame Diana Johnson DBE MP
  • Co-Chair – Baroness Barker
  • Vice-Chairs – Sir Peter Bottomley MP and Emily Thornberry MP

Parliamentarians also approved the Group’s income and expenditure statement.

You can read a summary of the event here.

If you have any questions about this event or the work of the APPG SRH please get in contact via