RCGP Accredited Course Logo

The FSRH Diploma is aimed at doctors (DFSRH) and nurses (NDFSRH) who are already working in general practice, community and integrated sexual health services. 


By testing their knowledge and assessing their skills, the Diploma demonstrates that they can provide safe and effective sexual and reproductive health care in community, primary and secondary care settings.



The FSRH Diploma is a blended learning package, underpinned by an e-portfolio that records your progress. The Diploma has three stages, which build on each other.

1. Theoretical knowledge – this is based on the Faculty’s clinical guidelines. Trainees must pass an online knowledge assessment (the ‘eKA in SRH’). 
2. Course of 5 – five hours of small group-assessed workshops.
3. Clinical experience & assessments in seven topics.

The Diploma is open to doctors with both registration and a licence to practise with the UK GMC or nurses on the UK NMC register (excluding RN Level 2). It is accredited by the RCGP and the RCN. Clinicians currently holding the Diploma must also be a member of the Faculty.

Download a full list of learning outcomes for the FSRH Diploma.

Download the guidelines relating to FSRH Diploma trainees who express conscientious objections

Read our education and training FAQ's here

Associated fees and costs

• eKA – £75 per sitting 
• ePortfolio – £50 
• Course of 5 – costs are set locally – view our events page for more details
• FRSH Diploma application fee – £80 registration fee plus a subscription fee of £99 for applications made January – June, or £50 for applications made July – November 2017.

To Begin your Diploma Training, please Register for an FSRH account or log into 'My FSRH'.

 Diploma Qualification Pathway 


Click on the orange 'Qualify' or 'Recertify' tabs below to read more about these qualifications and download key documents.



Preparing for the Diploma

First, download and read the Diploma’s training requirements. Please ensure that you do not start the Diploma until you have the necessary knowledge and skills.

The Online Knowledge Assessment (eKA in SRH)

We recommend reading our eKA FAQs which may help if you have specific queries. Read more about the eKA in full.

The eKA takes 1 hour 45 minutes and must be completed in a single sitting. There is a £75 fee for each attempt. Once you pass, you will receive a downloadable PDF Pass Certificate which you must keep for the next step. Click here to go to the eKA.

Optional additional learning - e-learning for healthcare

Please note that there is a free and optional e-learning package (e-SRH) which may help you to refresh your clinical knowledge as you prepare for the eKA. It contains interactive learning modules on a variety of topics, e.g. STI testing. Each module lasts around 20 minutes; the entire course should take around 30 hours. To use it, please register with e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH).

Diploma e-Portfolio

After passing the eKA, click here to log in and apply online for your FSRH Diploma e-portfolio via My FSRH. You need this before moving onto the Course of 5.

The Course of 5

The Course of 5 (C5) involves five hour-long workshops and includes nine Diploma assessments. Failure in three or more assessments constitutes failure overall, requiring you to retake the entire course. The C5 can be run in individual sessions, or in its entirety as a one day course. It is delivered to groups of up to four trainees, giving you the chance to put your theoretical knowledge into practice.

Visit our Events pages to see when C5 workshops are taking place. You can search by region and event type to find a Course of 5 that suits your schedule and location. We recommend reading our guidelines and checklist before booking your place. Before beginning the C5 itself, please complete the entry requirement forms in your e-portfolio.

View the Course of 5 trainee guidelines.

Clinical experience & assessment

Trainees are assessed in seven topic areas, mostly from direct observation of consultations, but also discussion of observations that your trainer may not have witnessed. Your clinical experience & assessment must be done through a Faculty-recognised General Training Programme and we recommend that you start it within six months of passing the C5. You can find full details of Faculty-recognised General Training Programmes by logging in and then accessing our Find a Trainer webpage. You will be able to search by training type and location.

Read the relevant guidelines for trainees on Clinical Assessment.

Final steps

Once you have passed every stage of your training, you can apply for your FSRH Diploma. To do this, login to ‘My FSRH’ and then follow the steps to complete the following items:
1. Complete the online evaluation for the Course of 5
2. Complete the online evaluation for the Clinical Experience & Assessment
3. Complete the online Diploma application form
4. Send this along with the final summative assessment form from your e-portfolio.

Please note: FSRH Diplomas are awarded on a rolling basis, and must be awarded within 12 months of completing the training programme. We therefore recommend that you apply for your Diploma as soon as possible after passing your training.

Associated fees and costs

• eKA – £75 per sitting
• ePortfolio – £50
• Course of 5 – costs are set locally – view our events page for more details.
• FRSH Diploma application fee – £80 registration fee plus a subscription fee of £99 for applications made January – June, or £50 for applications made July – November 2017.

To begin your Diploma qualification, please either Register with FSRH or log into 'My FSRH'

Additional Documentation

General Training Terminology

Diploma Curriculum

If you hold the FSRH Diploma, we require recertification every five years to ensure that you have developed and maintained the knowledge, skills, attitude and behaviour needed to provide safe and effective sexual and reproductive health care (SRH).

How to apply

You should apply for recertification by downloading and/or filling in the relevant forms via the recertification webpages. 

Please make sure to apply for recertification not more than six months before your recertification date and no later than six weeks afterwards.