Specialty Advisory Committee (SAC)

The role of Specialty Advisory Committee (SAC) is to contribute to the development of specialist training policy around sexual and reproductive healthcare (SRH) as it affects the specialty and the delivery of specialist training to standards set by FSRH and the General Medical Council (GMC).


The SAC meets quarterly per annum, its membership includes Doctors, Training Programme Directors, Educational Supervisors, Trainee representative(s), Patient/public involvement representative(s), the Postgraduate Dean for CSRH (or deputy), Chair of CSRH Assessment and Curriculum Committee (ACC), and FSRH Officer representation from the Vice President (Specialty).


The Specialty Advisory Committees achievements for 2018


  • Successful implementation of 9 new CSRH Trainees to the programme, which was double the 2017 intake of 4 places.
  • 6 new CSRH trainee spaces confirmed for 2019.
  • Successful training days – New Educational Supervisor Day, Educational Supervisor Day and Trainee day
  • Start of new Lead Dean
  • Start of a New trainee rep
  • CCT of 3 Trainees
  • Full documentation of all Specialty processes
  • Improved our information for trainees
  • Trainee network is working very successfully

 The Specialty Advisory Committee’s plans for 2019

  • To progress the CSRH curriculum review as part of the GMC 2020 Curriculum Review project. 
  • To progress/influence the number of CSRH trainee posts
  • To promote the Specialty training programme to policy makers and commissioners /managers
  • To improve the way the FSRH supports specialty trainees and new consultants in SRH
  • Work with BHIVA and BASHH to support mentoring of new consultants in CSRH 
  • To ensure that any suitable products meet the GMCs Excellence by Design standards when reviewing/developing our portfolio
  • Make use of the new LMS assist the Specialty programme

Specialty Advisory Committee Members 2019

  • Dr Charlotte Porter (Chair & Training Programme Director)

  • Dr Janet Barter (Vice President Specialty and Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Anne Boyle (Lead Dean)
  • Dr Catherine Schunmann (Chair of the Assessment and Curriculum Committee and Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Najia Aziz (Training Programme Director)
  • Ms Toni Belfield (Patient Consumer Representative)
  • Dr Ailsa Gebbie (Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Antje Ischebeck (SSM Rep)
  • Dr Kulsum Jaffer (Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Diana Mansour (Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Charlotte Cossey (Co-Trainees Chair) 
  • Dr Thomas Hesse (Co-Trainees Chair) 
  • Dr Pauline McGough (Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Sharon Moses (Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Helen Ribbans (Training Programme Director)
  • Dr Julia Shefras (Training Programme Director)

FSRH Staff

  • Vinet Campbell (Specialty Development Manager)
  • Mitesh Chauhan (Specialty Officer)

Contact Mitesh Chauhan, Committee Administrator with any questions regarding the committee and committee work at specialtyofficer@fsrh.org 020 7724 5187


Read more about our different committees

Read about our current committee vacancies