Clinical Effectiveness Committee (CEC)

The Clinical Effectiveness Committee oversees FSRH’s Clinical Effectiveness Unit (CEU), which works to promote evidence-based clinical practice. The CEU has 4 main work streams: evidence-based guidance (including the review and update of the UK Medical Eligibility Criteria); members’ enquiries service; new product reviews and clinical audit/research.

The CEC also liaises and works collaboratively with the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) and other professional organisations on issues of clinical practice. The CEC also prepares briefings for FSRH Council on emerging issues at the forefront of sexual and reproductive healthcare.

The Clinical Effectiveness Committee’s Achievements to date and Plans for 2016

The Clinical Effectiveness Committee had a productive 2015. The Clinical Effectiveness Unit (CEU) successfully completed inherited guidelines on intrauterine contraception, fertility awareness methods, the progestogen-only pill and worked to produce a revised guideline on problematic bleeding with hormonal contraception. The output of members’ enquiries significantly improved with a clearer process for responses and rapid turn arounds. The CEU also produced new product reviews on Levosert and the self-administration of Sayana Press and put the final draft of the UKMEC out for consultation. Finally, the CEU produced several timely statements for topical SRH issues in the media and developed a robust process to accompany this media output.

In 2016, the CEC will review new and updated guidance documents, new product reviews and the production of FSRH media statements. Likewise, the CEC will continue to contribute to and attend meetings with NICE, BASHH and the BNF. With the introduction of FSRH’s new branding and website, the CEC are also looking to explore new electronic formats for delivering guidance for members.

Committee Members’ Names:

  • Dr Diana Mansour (Committee Chair)
  • Ms Toni Belfield
  • Dr Rachel d’Souza
  • Dr Deepa Grover (BASHH Representative)
  • Ms Natika Halil (FPA Representative)
  • Ms Shelley Mehigan (E-learning Representative)
  • Ms Janet Dearden (Nurse Representative)
  • Dr Farah Paruk (GP Representative) 
  • Dr Karin Piesga
  • Dr Janine Simpson (Trainee Representative)

Read more about our different committees

Read about our current committee vacancies